top of page

FOLLOW ME:

RECENT POSTS: 

AN OPEN LETTER TO MY GRANDMA

Hello po, Mamang,

There are an infinite amount of words that can explain how thankful I am to have you. I will forever be grateful to have had you watch me grow throughout the years. You were literally there for me since my diaper days. From this little, maarte baby girl, watching teleseryes with you everyday after school to a lady, working hard to continue to make you proud. Mom tells me all the time how you always tell everyone over in the Philippines how much you've watched me grow and how proud you are: "You know, ang Kathlyn ko ay..."

I found the scrapbooks and albums you made of us. That is why I am inspired to write this for you.

You spoiled me with all that you can. You took care of me ever since I was little. I am the woman that I am today because of your teachings. You've given me all that I have ever needed and more. You always made sure I ate breakfast everyday before school, because you never wanted to see me have headaches while doing my work. You always checked up on me when I studied late night for tests, scolding me every time saying,"Hoy, tulog na!" You'd say that and tell me that I was already smart and I already knew all the material. You always made sure I didn't have random holes on my leggings or that my Halloween costumes were original since they were made by you. You'd get mad at me whenever you'd see me pouting and frowning, telling me, "Wag kang sisimangot. Smile ka lagi."

Now, I can sew and cook and bake and clean for myself.

I also try to stay positive and happy whenever possible. :-)

You are so loving.

You provide so much for the family. Showering us with love all the time.

Not only the family, but to all of those you meet.

For example, you've always created a welcoming space for my friends whenever they came over. I know it brought you joy whenever they'd see you and greet you with hugs.

Now that you're in the Philippines, I know you are even more excited to spread the love to the rest of the family! I love seeing you through FaceTime, always telling us how much fun you are having over there.

Thank you, po. I remember the times when I would come to you and cry. I did this alllllll the time growing up. To this day, you still call me "baby gurang," hahahahahah! You still give the best hugs and always make me laugh to make me feel better. You're still my favorite person to chismis with. You are also the Selfie Queen, always taking pictures with me all the time. You're always down to try weird DIY face masks I find on the Internet. I don't know how many times I've snap-chatted you, too! I love being your kitchen assistant. I remember making Kakanin with you all the time whenever I was free. I also always made sure to have the TV set to TFC before I left for school because I know how you never want to watch anything but that. Whenever I'd go to Trader Joes, I always had to remember to bring home at least one jar of Cookie Butter because it is your favorite!

I admire you so much, Lola. Ikaw ang inspiracion sa lahat nang ginagawa ko.

You have gone through a lot in your life, both negative & positive. Through it all, you have always kept a smile on your face. I will try my best to do the same.

I miss you so much and I can't wait to see you the next time I visit the Philippines!

Happy Birthday Mamang! Mahal na mahal kita <3

*I LOVE YOU 2do2do, I LOVE YOU 4by4 hehehe*

Forever yours,

Katlyn

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Tumblr - Grey Circle
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • LinkedIn - Grey Circle
bottom of page