top of page

FOLLOW ME:

RECENT POSTS: 

F17

Though I've been in break mode for the past week, I feel like it's time for me to actually fully process all that has happened this quarter.

Wow.

Every time I look back, I get so overwhelmed because there's so many thing to talk about. I don't even know where to begin. It's weird because usually while writing these things, I was knew what to write about. To be honest, I low key tried to avoid creating this post. However, I knew that I didn't, I wouldn't have closed this quarter off the right way.

Instead of writing long, lengthy paragraphs where I ramble and ramble all about what I did this quarter, I'm going to sum my experience up with some food for thought. Each bullet point will be a lesson I learned and experiences that are centered around each.

1) You are capable of anything-- trust in yourself.

My grades, my new jobs, and the immense growth I have experienced proves that this is true. Going into this school year, I had a lot of confidence. I trusted my gut feeling. I took leaps in my future career while taking classes I knew that were going to challenge me. I don't know why I had so much positivity going into the school year, but it really helped. This was probably the best Fall quarter I've had in terms of grades. I was such a busy bee too!

2) Those who matter don't mind, those who mind don't matter.

I had a hard time grasping this concept because man, it's so relevant to my life at the moment. I've learned that it's not all about how long you've been friends or how often you see them, finding friends that can understand you and continue to cheer you on from the sidelines is so relieving. I don't see my close friends as often as I'd like, but every time we link up, nothing's changed. I feel at home. On the other hand, I've learned that you can't please everyone, some people want to tear you down all time, bringing unnecessary negative energy. I am slowly trying to rid that out of my life. I want to give a shoutout to the Day1s I'm still rocking with and the friends I never knew I needed. Y'all are appreciated deeply.

3) Some people never grow up.

It's unbelievable that even after being in college for a while, they still act childish, taking on the same attitudes they did back in high school. I had to have a lot of patience this quarter, dealing with a shitty group member. I feel sorry for her, but it's okay. She has a lot of learning to do. I don't have to babysit anymore.

4) Invest in experiences rather than possessions.

With Coachella payments and Study Abroad plans always popping up in my mind, I have to choose between splurging and saving all the time. This quarter, I spent a lot of my money on concerts, music festivals, and general events. From Flog Gnaw to Disneyland, a lot of my money went to doing fun things rather than impulse shopping decisions. I had that problem the first two years of college, always buying random things off of Amazon all the time. Don't get me wrong-- I still treat myself to the occasion cute top and leggings. I just can't wait to keep saving up for more experiences. My goals for next year are to study abroad and go to New York for my 21st birthday. Hopefully I can achieve those goals!

5) Lean into your discomfort.

I've had to push myself to try out many different spaces this quarter. Let me tell you-- it was not easy. I've been trying to join new organizations on campus for the longest time. I finally had the time to this quarter. At first, I felt really uneasy. Though I am a social butterfly, sometimes I forget how to talk to people and make friends. I'm honestly an introvert deep down inside. I'm so glad I tried new things because the people I've met are so interesting. Another fun fact: I'm starting a club! Stay tuned for Pagasa @ UCSD, the Pilipin@ Catholic Community on campus. I can't wait to continue to try out new things. Who knows?? Maybe I'll even rush, heh.

& lastly,

6) Give yourself that doughnut.

I was so health conscious coming into Fall Quarter. After a summer full of dieting and exercising, I had this new healthy lifestyle approach. Sometimes I forgot I was still human. This pertains to all other aspects of life. Sometimes you have to stop being too hard on yourself, and show yourself some love. Go to that party. Spend the night binge-watching shows on Netflix. Eat that doughnut and feel great. You deserve it.

Fall 2017 was all over the place, but I came out of it stronger than ever.

I feel like this quarter I made a lot of impulse decisions that led to lasting memories. From cutting my hair to wrecking my bank will all the concerts I've been to, it was all worth it! I am so excited to keep challenging myself even more. I can't wait to see what's new for next quarter and next year. I really hope I can keep this momentum up.

I'll definitely try to write more. Stay tuned, I think life is going to get much more interesting, heh!

Thanks for staying.

Sincerely,

Kaithleen

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Tumblr - Grey Circle
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • LinkedIn - Grey Circle
bottom of page