top of page

FOLLOW ME:

RECENT POSTS: 

AUGUST FAVORITES


»»-----------------------------(¯`MONTHLY FAVORITES FOR AUGUST 2017´¯)----------------------------»»

▸ Spotify Spotlight: Daniel Caesar's Freudian (2017)

I've been following Daniel Caesar for a while now. Finding out that University Centers (UCSD's student union and the best place to work on campus! psssh, no bias) booked him for a show on campus made me super ecstatic! This past month, Daniel released his debut album, Freudian, and of course, I was immediately hooked. As always, Daniel brought the killer vocals. Freudian tells the modern story about falling in and out of love. We follow Daniel on an adventure of wanting love and finding the right person at the right time, then slowly feeling a void and absence. The music is smooth and dream-like, taking in bits and pieces of gospel and soul influence. Freudian features artists such as H.E.R, Syd, and Kali Urchis. My favorite tracks from the album are definitely "Best Part," "Neu Roses," and "Blessed." Give the album a listen. It is available on Spotify, Apple Music, and other online music streaming websites.

▸ Makeup Memoire: Falsies (from Daiso Japan!)

Alright, I've always sucked at putting on fake eyelashes. It was to the point that it took me 30 minutes to simply put ONE on! However, this month I wanted to try something new. I've always thought falsies were super cute, but I either 1) could rock them too 2) had no time to put them on and 3) didn't even know if I was applying them on correctly. This month, I stumbled upon a pack of falsies from Daiso Japan, after filling up my basket with goodies. My ading Isabella recommended them to me, saying she really liked the look and feel. I mean, who can resist? They're super cute AND they're only $1.50 for a pack of three. I figured why not try them on. Honestly, the best decision and the worst mistake ever. Why? I keep buying more and more because they're so pretty. I am obsessed with the e04 style lashes. They have thick band, making them easier to apply. They're so natural, but still fab! Definitely my go-to lashes!

▸ Recommended Reads: lol homework

Sadly, I was not able to read anything, but homework articles and school textbooks. I will explain more in my Explore & Experience section! However, I enjoyed reading through inspirational status updated on LinkedIn. Does that count, haha?

▸ Snack Stash: Almond Butter

Yo, I've been eating so much healthier. After feeling so sluggish, bloated, and straight-up unhealthy the other half of the summer, I decided to change up my diet. I've been eating a lot better. Being able to prepare and cook my own food since my move has definitely motivated to try healthier recipes. A fave I started implementing into my munchies this month was Almond Butter. Almond butter is a little healthier alternative to peanut butter. It has more fiber and vitamins than peanut butter. It also has less sugar and fats. I love using it in oatmeal and on toast! Try out Justin's, a fan-favorite!

▸ Explore & Experience: Summer Session @ UCSD

This past month back in San Diego was hectic. Summer session should not be underestimated. I learned that the hard way. I remember the weeks leading up to Summer Session, I kept telling myself that I was going to be completely fine taking two classes, working, and interning at the same time. Oh, let me tell you! Class went by so fast. Having to condense material into five weeks is intense. I remember already being piled up with homework and it was only the second lecture. I had my midterms the third week in! It was pretty brutal. My days went from 8am to 5pm, having class and work back-to-back. Boy, I was exhausted every Monday and Wednesday. However, I enjoyed being here! San Diego always makes me feel alive, the environment promotes growth. I definitely believe that I experienced a lot of that. This month required a lot of adulting out of me. From paying my own rent and bills to having to go grocery shopping and cooking food for myself all the time, I was able to finally experience a part of adult life. To tell the truth, I like it. I feel like I can get my stuff done and still have a good time and enjoy myself. We will see how the rest of the year goes.

▸Miscellaneous:

-Eugene went to India for his global seminar. It was an experience being on two different continents in two different time zones, but I feel our relationship got stronger. We were both patient and understanding of having some lack of communication sometimes, but I feel like it made me appreciate the times we did get to speak and FaceTime.

-I subscribed to ipsy! Super excited to see the awesome goodies I'll receive in a few weeks.

This month was exhausting. I'm glad I was able to create this blog post though! 'Til next time!

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Tumblr - Grey Circle
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • LinkedIn - Grey Circle
bottom of page