top of page

FOLLOW ME:

RECENT POSTS: 

NEW (SCHOOL) YEAR, BETTER ME.

Wow, summer is basically over.

With semester schools already back in session and the Back-to-School section put up at Target and Walmart, it is that time of year again.

It's time to hit the books. It's time to get our brains back to working. It's time to grind. It's time to get ourselves back together.

Not only does this time indicate that we're back on our academics, it's a time to reflect and create change for the upcoming school year. Just like a new year, a new school year can be a way to change the our habits and create resolutions for us to follow. Look at it as, "new (school) year, better me."

This is the perfect time to think about what we would like to achieve. Whether it be getting a 4.0 for the whole year or joining a new organization/club, this is the time to think about many different goals.

I recently bought a new planner. If you knew me well, you'd know that I put my whole life in my planners. I literally can't go without a planner! I write down everything. Planners allow me to believe that I have my life together, haha! A planner is definitely something one should invest in. It is worth the money. I recommend looking into Passion Planner & Day Planner. They allow you to plan every aspect of your day-- LITERALLY. You can plan every hour of the day, everyday. They both also have sections dedicated to self reflection, to-do lists, contacts, and year-long goals. Getting a planner put me in the mood to get back to werk.

With the planner, I divided up my goals into larger categories. These are:

BUDGET & SAVE

College is definitely expensive. From paying for school fees to buying textbooks, academics itself feed off of my bank account. To top it off, there are events such as concerts that happen year around. Last year, I remember spending money left and right, carelessly online shopping and splurging on trips to Convoy. This year, I am saving and beating those temptations. I've decided to start a mini piggy bank to funds for long term things such as raves, music festivals, or maybe those cute shoes at the mall. I'm learning that I can't afford to go to everything, so might as well pick and choose.

HEALTHY CHOICES

My health has changed so much ever since going to college. I've gained weight, going on one too many trips to the market and not finding time to workout. I've lost a lot of sleep, spending too many nights up late doing the most random things. I've depended on caffeine to keep me living. All of that is going to change. I'm for sure going to watch what I put into my body and do what's right to keep it going. Therefore, no more Goody's Coffee Window. :-(

SCHOOL IS YOUR HUSTLE.

Ahhh, I remember last fall quarter. Babygirl thought she had it easy. She was wrong for I really messed up my grades that quarter. YIKES! Luckily, I've constantly progressed and found much improvement in my grades. However, I know I can do better and better. I'm going to stick with my Communication major, of course. I want to get ahead and go straight to finishing my upper division classes and killing those while I'm at it. I'm going to push myself academically, not just by my grades, but by also taking classes in completely new fields. This will allow me to intellectually challenge myself while trying out new things. You never know! Taking that random Philosophy or Theater class might just change your whole perspective. Taking classes outside your comfort zone will allow you to make the most out of the education you are receiving. Heck, you might even find another minor or passion.

GET CREATIVE.

While studying my butt off, I'm also going to plan time to work on my skills for my future career. Therefore, I will try my best to keep writing for this blog throughout the school year. I know, I know. I ditched y'all last school year. ONE OF MY TOP GOALS IS TO KEEP THIS RUNNING. This will also be the perfect way for me to destress. I am also freelancing for a group called BrainTrip Collective. Another fun project I'm working on is a YouTube channel with my best friends. This will allow me to practice my video production skills I have earned in high school. I can't wait to get back into video/film! I am also bringing my guitar down and hope to get back into playing and writing music. Maybe I'll get back on KayApostolMusic. We will see. I also want to brush up on my photography and photo editing skills. Lastly, I plan to be on the lookout for Print, Marketing and Public Relations internships throughout the school year. Hit ya girl up if y'all know anyone hiring!

RETAIN YOURSELF & OTHERS.

I AM AN ADVOCATE FOR SELF CARE AND SELF LOVE. Yeah, college is tough, but you are tougher. Always put yourself first. If you're feeling sick, get some rest. Having a bad day, go treat yourself with a Netflix marathon. It is important to remember you are only human. This summer, I discovered how great naps are and I will continue to let myself nap, haha! Be happy and reflect on your greatness. Loving yourself allows you to share love with others. Spend some time with loved ones. Being positive will send off good vibes for them to see. Being with those who make you happy will allow you to keep pushing throughout the school year. This year, I hope to become a good role model for the adings and help my peers succeed. We boutta grow together, ya feel? I want to continue to develop new relationships while allowing my current ones to flourish. I also want to keep nurturing relationships I've had for many years. Relationships are important to me.

LIVE

College life is hectic. It's stressful. We never have time to breathe. But remember, College is supposed to be the best time of our lives! Party. Go on spontaneous trips. Explore. School is important, but there's always time to have fun! I live in a city where people vacation. San Diego is beautiful and I want to appreciate the beauty. Treat weekdays as weekends, sometimes. It's okay to fuck shit up every once in a while.

There ya have it! My goals for the upcoming school year. I really want to push myself this year. It's going to be difficult, but it's going to be worth it. UC San Diego offers so many resources for me to take advantage of to help me get to where I want to be. My support system down here is A1 and I have no doubt that they will be here for me during my times of need.

I had so much growth my first year of college. Imagine the things I would have done and the person I will be by the end of this school year.

Second year, I am ready for you.

I am already counting down the days until I'm back in Sunny San Diego. :-)

Sincerely,

Kaithleen

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Tumblr - Grey Circle
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • LinkedIn - Grey Circle
bottom of page