top of page

FOLLOW ME:

RECENT POSTS: 

SWEETSEXYSAVAGE TOUR

"You're the only one that I get like this for."

The Bay Area is home to many known legends in diverse fields of interests. From our buzzing Hip-Hop scene that has brought the music industry icons like Mac Dre and E-40 to our thriving tech-industry, housing the headquarters of companies such as YouTube, Pixar, Salesforce, and Google, the Bay Area has it all!

Being away from the Bay because of college made me take this place for granted. I love the Bay, but I knew that I couldn't stay here for another few years. I knew I wanted to grow and explore. Moving to San Diego definitely made me rethink what "home" really is to me. I started to be accustomed to the San Diegan lifestyle. It being my second year there, I've gotten to fall in love with that city to the point that I started to dread flying back home to the Bay Area. My new "home" here is now my Uncle's house in the 510. Don't get me wrong, it's still in the Bay, but I miss living in San Francisco. A huge piece of my heart will always be dedicated to the 415, although being dazzled by the fresh, new experiences that San Diego offers me.

However, seeing Kehlani last night made me realize why I will always be a Bay Area girl.

After watching Kehlani at OutsideLands last year, I was determined to see her perform again. Kehlani offers such a unique sound while being completely relatable to her audiences. Shoutout to my homegirl Laarni because I remember her putting me on with 'Raw and True' back in 2014. I've loved Kehlani ever since listening to her first released singles. I remember vibing to Raw and True, knowing that it would be dope seeing her get big. Fast forward to three summers later, Kehlani has three chart-topping albums, performing sold out shows around the world.

I attended the SWEETSEXYSAVAGE tour with my best friend Adrianne and my Ate Danielle. They took the Amtrak from the Central Valley just to see Kehlani! I remember when she released her last tour date, we knew we had to clutch tickets.

The concert was in the beautiful Greek Theatre, nestled in Berkeley Hills. It was such an unique concert venue. It overlooked the San Francisco Bay, making it an even more magical experience. Her set consisted of her entire SWEETSEXYSAVAGE (SSS) album. SSS was released back in the beginning of the year. From R&B ballads to eccentric hip-hop tunes, SSS was Kehlani's diary shared to us all.

Fun Fact: Kehlani actually graduated on that exact stage four years!

Kehlani has such a big heart. It was so exhilerating hearing her different stories and perspectives. It made me realize how important it is to remember where you came from and how it is your duty to pay forward.

Kehlani is a real life testimony of someone who believed in her dreams and made them a reality. This Oakland girl made her way out of the Bay, performing for huge audiences in places she never imagined. Now, she's back home, making a difference in so many lives.

Sincerely,

Kaithleen

*Picture Credit to @davidcamarena for the pictures from @kehlani's instagram*

  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Tumblr - Grey Circle
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • LinkedIn - Grey Circle
bottom of page